Cambridge: 07 823 3460 | Te Awamutu 07 871 8125

2015 Winners

EXCELLENCE IN BUSINESS AWARDS: Judged by the Waikato Management School
Excellence In Business – Sole Trader/Partnership Business

Excellence in Business – New and Emerging

Excellence in Small Business

Excellence in Medium Business

Excellence in Large Business

2016 Supreme Winner:
Time Out – Pirongia (Highly Commended)

MathZwise – Te Awamutu

The Herbal Dispensary

Cogswell Surveys Limited

Rob May Builders

Rob May Builders
Jonathon McCullough, Managing Director of Rob May Builders, was humbled by the accolade bestowed upon Rob May Builders. He said "our entire team has contributed to and continues to contribute to the success of our business and this includes the incredible group of professional advisors and mentors who surround us, and who are here with us tonight". Jonathon added, "I would also like to make special mention and thank my wife Paula, whose significant contribution and unwavering support makes this win a possibility."

Andrew Buchanan Smart from the University of Waikato Management School was impressed by the quality of the entries in this year's awards, with the standard continuing to rise. The competition was extremely strong and judges' visits were crucial in the final determination of this year's winners.

"We, as judges, are inspired by the diversity and quality of the businesses who entered the awards and this indicates business in the Waipa and Raglan is in an excellent position" said Andrew Buchanan-Smart.

Customer Service

Judged by TrustPower based on written applications and judges visits. As always, this has was a strongly contested award. The winners were:
Te Awamutu
Matariki Motor Lodge
The Shack
The Lily Pad Café

Customer Choice

The public are the judges when it comes to the Vodafone Customer Choice award, and the text votes poured in during June. In 2014 there was the added incentive of a smartphone prize for this category winner.
Te Awamutu Customer Choice Award
Raglan Customer Choice Award
Cambridge Customer Choice Award
Alexandra Hotel
Soul Shoes
The Lily Pad Café
This year's Overall winner of this very popular award, The Lily Pad Café, won an iphone6 as well as the coveted award and one lucky voter won $100 Vodafone phone credit.

Emerging Business Leader


The Emerging Business Leader for 2015, Phil MacKay from Rouge Café demonstrates leadership not only in business, but also in the wider community, including as a leader in the 1st XV young professional's network and representative on the Chamber Executive.

Employee of the Year

The Employee of the Year Awards for Te Awamutu and Cambridge rewards that person who will go the extra mile.
Te Awamutu Employee of the Year
Raglan Employee of the Year
Cambridge Employee of the Year
Rhonda McGuire – LJ Hooker
Russ Adams – Ray White
Rachael Colgan – Cambridge I-Site

People Manager

The inaugural Te Awamutu People Manager of the Year award sponsored by People for Success, recognises exceptional leadership by one person in the business they are employed by or own.
Te Awamutu People Manager of the Year
Jennifer Roxburgh – Mint Beauty Therapy

Community Contribution

This Award requires clear demonstration of community contribution as an integral part of the business.
Excellence in Community Contribution Award
Rouge Café

Excellence in Sustainability


The winner was selected from the Finalists in the Excellence in Business categories, and is the business that demonstrates consistent excellence in sustainability across the award criteria.
Fonterra Excellence in Sustainability Award:
Rouge Cafe

Services to Business


The nominations for this award were judged this year by former Mayor of Waipa District, WRC Councillor Mr Alan Livingston.
Waipa District Council Special Award for Outstanding Services to Business in Waipa Winner:
Rosalie Lunson

This product has been added to your cart